Hello world!

28 06 2010

I have always heard about something that happens to women when they meet men.

I heard about the eye flick, where the guy “casually” glances down to check out the girl’s chest to see what the action is down there. I’ve never really experienced this phenomenon, probably because I’m not very well endowed. But for the past year, I finally get what it feels like.

And you know what guys? Stop it! It’s really off-putting!

A little over a year ago I had a major surgery to remove my colon. I now have a permanent ileostomy, which is a bag on my belly to collect waste from my intestines. This sounds kind of horrifying, but it’s really not- you most likely would not know that I had this unless you were looking at a specific place on my belly very hard.

But now when I tell people this, the eye contact stops for a second and I get…

THE EYE FLICK.

I’m here to tell you something! I love my ostomy. It saved my life. I’m here to spread the word.

a) People with ostomies can still be cool, bad-ass, hot, or just as nerdy as they were pre-surgery.

b) You probably have seen people with ostomies before and not known it!

c) Ostomies aren’t just for old people.

d) The media portrays ostomies as dirty, smelly, embarrassing, and disgusting, then extends that to ostomates themselves. None of these words should apply.

I want to give you a chance to see what life is like with an ostomy, and I want to give ostomates a forum to comment and give tips, great websites, or products that work! Welcome everyone, and join the club!

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 06 2010
Janice

Keep up the good work! Getting ostomy info out is so very important.

5 07 2010
ostygirl

thanks for your comment and your read! I love having a community of people who just GET it, all ready made. I hope your holiday weekend was fabulous šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

