Cherries

8 07 2010

So I was thinking today about something that happened soon after my surgery.

I was using the clear bags that the hospital gave me, and seeing how new this all was, you get kind of fascinated looking at your stoma and your output. Totally gross, but that’s how it goes.

Anyway, one day I went to empty and saw something in the bag that I thought would literally give me a heart attack.

MY STOMA FELL OFF.

I am not even kidding, I saw it IN MY BAG. I started thinking, “It doesn’t hurt, how could this not hurt?? How do you fix this?? Should I leave it in my bag?? Should I call 9-1-1? WHAT SHOULD I DO??!”

I hyperventilated for a few minutes before I thought back over my day and figured it out.

I love cherries, and with my Crohn’s had not been able to eat them. At work someone brought in a cherry coffee cake and I had a slice.

I started breathing again and said over and over, “NOT my stoma. JUST a cherry. NOT my stoma. JUST  a cherry.”

I’m kind of afraid to eat cherries again after that…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

