Life goes on

21 02 2011

This past weekend I drove out a couple of hours to a friend’s place and we went to see part one of the AMC best picture marathon. If you’ve never heard of it, this is a pretty awesome experience. Since there are 10 nominees, we saw five this Saturday and are seeing the other five next weekend. So Saturday I sat in a movie theater in my sweats all day watching Toy Story 3, 127 Hours, The Kids Are All Right, True Grit, and The Fighter. Epic.

Today I have a snow day. Which is great because I’m exhausted. I got some stuff done. Drank some hot chocolate. Worried a little.

This week I have my first parent-teacher conferences. All day Wednesday and Thursday afternoon/evening I’ll be conferencing. I don’t feel prepared. These aren’t technically my kids. I’m not sure what to discuss. This process makes me nervous. But I’m going to do it. And I hope I do a good job.

I’m trying my hardest to make a good impression on the school. I’m hoping that this sub job will lead to more permanent employment somewhere. I’m hoping to start saving money. To buy a new computer. To actually look into grad school.

I applied to CCFA’s Camp Oasis again this weekend. Instead of the Wisconsin site, I applied to the Michigan one. The dates for the Wisconsin one are the same as the ostomy conference which I am pretty committed to attending. If this works out, I would hopefully be able to get to both. Except I have a couple of weddings this summer that I’m in and I’m not sure I checked those dates yet. We’ll see.

This post is a giant ramble. It has nothing to do with health or ostomies. Sometimes I struggle with what to say here because my life seems so normal. But I think that was my intention when I started this. I wanted to show people who were scared of this surgery that life goes on. That things are pretty normal.

In some way, everyone is exceptional. But this surgery doesn’t make me exceptional. I’m still me. I still love movies too much. I still want to teach. Parent teacher conferences still scare the crap out of me. The only difference is that the crap is in a bag.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

