Prednisone

17 07 2011

I hate prednisone. I’ve made that pretty clear. But I have to say, even after all the side effects, it works incredibly well.

I went to the doctor last two Fridays ago. I was due for my shot the day after. She was concerned because I had a fever but that’s not unusual- what was unusual was that the fever didn’t go away with my shot. It stuck around at the end of last week my appetite started to go away.

My doctor was pretty concerned and has decided to double my dose, so take two shots every other week. She doesn’t know when I’ll be able to start because the meds are pretty expensive and sometimes take a while to be approved by insurance. So for the rest of the week, I’m back on prednisone. That’ll help my body get through to my next dose of Cimzia and also gives that a kick.

So there it is. I was doing pretty well for a while and now they’re worried again. It’s a constant reminder that I have to be careful and listen to my body.

The prednisone has already started to kick in. My fever is down and I made it through an outdoor wedding this weekend with no ER trips for dehydration or anything else- progress right? And now I’m sitting in air conditioning watching ultimate fighting with my dad and thinking that I probably feel better than they do right now.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 07 2011
Thomas

Hi,

Greetings from Ireland!

Just had to leave a comment! Your such a strong person!

You set an amazing example for anybody facing anything tough in life.

Thanks you for this blog. Keep it coming.

27 07 2011
Melissa

Thank you for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

