Emotions.

14 11 2011

Today was the first day that I got really emotional about this whole experience.

This will come and go. Most of the time I just take it and roll with the punches, but out of nowhere it will hit me and I get really down.

I felt off at school today and didn’t think I was at my best. So I was surprised as I was leaving when a bunch of kids rushed to make me stay a few more minutes so they could give me this note that they wrote together and signed.

It almost made me cry. The way kids love with their whole hearts is awe inspiring.

At lunch today one girl looked at another and said, “What do you do when you get cranky? I like to eat.”

Not only is that pretty introspective for a seven-year-old, but that’s exactly what I like to do.

So when I got home I looked up some recipes and my mom and I went to the grocery store and I’m updating as I’m waiting for things to cook. I’m making a salad with arugula and roasted sweet potatoes and butternut squash and apples and pomegranate seeds and turkey burgers and homemade brownies for dessert.

My family is so understanding. My mom let me cry for a while in the car and then we just moved on. Cooking and turning the music loud always makes me feel better and now I have these delicious smells wafting through the house. Tasty. I’m excited.

Thank you all for continuing to read updates. I love each of you. Thank you Kelsey, for a card that made me cry and miss you even more today than usual. Thank you family for getting me chocolate and hugs. Thank you students for writing me notes.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 11 2011
Thomas

Those kids really are amazing, and the card is so cool!

18 11 2011
Kelsey

You are so very welcome. I miss you too!

Leave a Reply

