3 Years

17 02 2012

On February 6th I forgot the three year anniversary of my surgery.

This was the first year that the date didn’t hold meaning to me. It passed me by and I only realized it later. And that means that finally, three years later, my life seems normal. I don’t think about my ostomy being strange or different, I see it as being a part of me.  And that is glorious.

So on this late anniversary of sorts, I’m celebrating my health and the normalcy of my life. I have been blessed with a second chance at living life the way I am meant to live and just freedom. It is beyond words to think of how far I’ve come from the days where I was chained to the bathroom and had to go 25 times a day or more, to the days where we planned car routes around which roads had the most rest stops, to the days where I couldn’t even think of traveling outside of my comfort zone because my health was so chancy.

It’s a beautiful thing to not have to worry about accidents. And with my Tysabri starting up, I really don’t miss giving myself shots or taking a million pills. It’s just Prednisone for the next couple of months until the new meds kick in and I can’t imagine what life will be like then. Even more normal? Is that possible?

Actions

Information

One response

18 02 2012
Thomas

Its great to see how far you’ve come, even though I only recently began reading your blog I see you’ve been through a lot and are managing to come out on top with a great attitude!

Leave a Reply

